Vegetarian’s Struggle

I know this may be a bit late in the game but I’ve been sitting on this for a while and I have to share it. I came across this article in the New York Times several months ago about a vegetarian man that moved to the Midwest. He went out to eat at several different locations and claims that there is nowhere to go as a vegetarian in the Midwest.

“So, yes, I’ve “eaten” at some of these famous restaurants. There was the meal at the Golden Ox steakhouse (baked potato), Stroud’s fried chicken (rolls) and Arthur Bryant’s barbecue, where, searching for vegetarian options on the menu, skipping over the lard-bathed French fries, pausing to consider the coleslaw, I ordered the safest option (a mug of Budweiser).”

I understand that vegetarian options are not always easy to find in the Midwest but why would you go looking for vegetarian food at places that obviously don’t cater to vegetarians? He went to a steakhouse, a fried chicken joint, and a barbeque joint. What did he expect to find?

Over the past several months, I’ve pointed out several options here in the Midwest for vegetarians, both dining in and dining out. I’m sure that if I were to go to Kansas City, where this man is, I’d find several more vegetarian restaurants. And my guess is they wouldn’t take me all that long to find either!

Yes, being a vegetarian can be difficult but in my opinion, this guy just wanted something to complain about so he went to every place that so obviously wouldn’t have options for him.

Leave a Reply

