Beefless Benefit

As you all know by now, I’m fairly new at eating a vegetarian diet. It hasn’t been too long since I started but I felt the difference almost immediately. Once I cut meat out of my diet, I was sleeping better, I was more functional, and I just felt better.

Since becoming a vegetarian, I’ve had to argue with many of my friends about the benefits that I’ve noticed. They think that I’m imagining that my body feels better. Now, FINALLY, there’s a study to back up what I’ve been saying all along!

Last month the Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH) released a study that found that the consumption of red meat increases the risk of cardivascular disease and cancer.  While this study does not say that cutting all meat out of your diet is the best way to go, it does state that by substituting red meats with other healthy protein sources, there is a lower risk for mortality.

I hope you all take a chance to read what HSPH found in the study. The findings are extremely interesting and now I have some hard evidence to back up my argument with friends!

One response

  1. Thanks for sharing! I am fairly new to eating vegetarian as well, but I have not really ever eaten a whole lot of meat. I am loving it as well. If you want to hear more about the benefits of eating only veggies you should watch Forks Over Knives. It is a documentary about how animal protein, meat and dairy, are actually not good for you, and how beneficial an all raw foods diet is. It definitely has made me not want to go back to eating meat ever!

Leave a Reply

