I was out of town this past week visiting family. My little brother and I are both vegetarians so we were looking for some restaurants that have vegetarian options. After looking online and not finding anything that sounded good, we all decided that we’d go to a Mexican restaurant. This seemed like a good option as we thought they would at least have bean burritos and cheese quesadillas.
We were pleasantly surprised to find that they had more than just those two items on their vegetarian menu. After deciding what we were going to have as our main dishes, my brother and I took a look at the sides that came with our meal. A side of beans and a side of Mexican Rice.
The Mexican Rice, however, had an asterisk by it. After searching the menu for several minutes, we found what the asterisk meant… the Mexican Rice was made with chicken broth. While that wouldn’t be a huge deal to a lot of people, it really bothered me. And apparently, I’m not the only one. How exactly is this vegetarian dish that I ordered vegetarian if it’s cooked with chicken broth?
Long story short, I now check, double-check, and triple-check everything before ordering so that I’m not surprised with a stomach ache later in the evening.